- About -

Celebrating Excellence

Celebrating Excellence
Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Our community gathered to celebrate the school year at the Year 5 – 11 Presentation Evening. A variety of awards were presented to students to recognise outstanding achievements in Academic Studies, Leadership, Music, Sport, Values, Public Speaking and Debating, Drama, and Design and Visual Arts.

The strength and depth of our Performing Arts program was showcased with the Senior Contemporary Dance Troupe comprising Abi Boucher, Kate Maxwell, Phoebe Methven, Emma Ward, Pip Wayne and Taylah Williams giving a stand out performance. Their delicate and flawless piece, ‘Heart Cry’, the dance that they choreographed themselves to win their section of the South Eastern Independent Schools Association Cultural Festival earlier this year, was a beautiful start to the evening.
Many musical ensembles and bands have formed throughout the year and the audience were treated to an array of exceptional talent from White Picket Fence, the Girls’ Vocal Group, Senior Folk Group, Middle School Guitar Ensemble and the Boys’ Vocal Ensemble.
The Senior School Dux Awards for academic excellence went to Millie Thomas in Year 11 and Aaron Fraser in Year 10. An outstanding year for Aaron, he achieved his Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award and was also one of two Year 10 students awarded the Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholars Award. Ellie Pearce was the other deserving recipient of this award that is an academic enrichment program designed to support high achieving young Victorian students.
Byron Scothern from Year 11 and Martin Peters from Year 9 received Rising Musicians Awards. This $200 scholarship accompanying this prize is offered by the Phillip Island Jazz Festival to a Middle and Senior School student who demonstrate commitment, enthusiasm and passion towards their music studies.
The RSL ANZAC prize was awarded to Kirby Fuller from Year 8 who will now fulfil the duty of playing The Last Post at ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day community services.
Aidan Pouw in Year 7 achieved his Compass Award and will move on to commence the Duke of Edinburgh program.
The Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award and $250 prize went to Year 10 student Harrison Smith. This award recognizes a student who demonstrates leadership and teamwork within both the school and broader community and displays strong values, respect and ‘mateship’.
The Luke Bolding Memorial Scholarship is given to a student entering Year 12 in memory of 2014 alumni, Luke Bolding. The award and $2000 scholarship is given by Alex Scott and Staff for whom Luke was working in his dream job as a stock agent when he sadly passed away in 2015. Year 11 student Finnan Donohue was the worthy recipient of this prize.
Our Principal, Gea Lovell, praised all students who strived to achieve their personal best this year and thanked our Board of Directors, families and the community for supporting our students and the school in what has been another year of high achievement for Newhaven College.
Our Year 12 award winners were presented earlier in the year on their final day of school in October.
Page Picture: L-R - Finnan Donohue – Luke Bolding Memorial Scholarship, Aaron Fraser – Year 10 Dux, Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award and a Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholar, and Ellie Pearce, also a recipient of the Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholar’s Award.
Photo Below: Among the Middle School Award recipients at our Presentation Evening were - Back L-R: Sophie Henderson, Maddison Lethbridge, Bethany Scott, Caitlin Hunt, Mia Stratmann, Sophia Hughes, Holly van der Plight, Henry Bird, Aidan Pouw, Helena Leonardos. Front L-R: Henry Peppard, Lucas White, Tamika Poustie, Sunny Lumsden.

« Back To News