- About -

Congratulations Class of 2016

Congratulations Class of 2016
Thursday, 20 October 2016

Newhaven College’s Class of 2016 shared a dignified and emotional day with their families to celebrate the completion of 13 years of school life on Thursday 20 October. 

Ninety students and their families enjoyed a family breakfast before attending their final House assemblies. Heads of the College’s four Houses prepared special presentations honouring each Year 12 student including a ‘Personal Reflection’, a speech given by a fellow student, sibling or teacher to commemorate their time at Newhaven.
At the conclusion of the House assemblies, families and students gathered on the lawn in brilliant sunshine where 50 white doves were released to symbolise the students’ path forward. The doves represent the hopes and dreams that the graduating Year 12’s hold for their futures and also the hopes and dreams that their teachers and parents hold for them as they venture into the next phase of their lives beyond secondary school.
College Captains Jaz Hendry and Duncan Hunt then addressed the final assembly where awards were presented to Year 12 students for outstanding achievements. College Principal, Gea Lovell, presented the coveted Principal’s Prize to ‘an outstanding friend, mentor and student who espouses Newhaven College’s values’, College Captain Alex Swan from Leongatha.
The prestigious Papworth Prize is given in memory of Mr W G Papworth, the founding Chairman of the Newhaven College Council, to a student who displays all round excellence and consistent and impressive commitment to the aims of Newhaven College. Chair of the College Board, Greg Price, presented this year’s Papworth Prize to a very deserving and popular choice, Emma Volard from Surf Beach.

The Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award recognises students who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within the school and local community and display strong Australian values such as ‘mateship’. This award, accompanied by a $500 cash prize, was awarded to Pippa Treppo of Cowes.

Three students were recognised for achieving Duke of Edinburgh Awards with Caitlin McAskill and Jessica Wain receiving their Gold certificates, and Jessica Colla receiving Silver.

The following outstanding students also received awards for their achievements in academic areas, values and sport:

  • English - Lauren Adams
  • Technology - Jessica Wayne
  • Visual Arts - Zoe Johnson
  • Performing Arts - Emma Volard
  • Humanities & Social Science - Lauren Adams
  • Mathematics - John Budileanu
  • Science - Emily Adams
  • Languages - Lily Christopher
  • Health & Physical Education - Emily Adams
  • Debating - Claire Anstey
  • SEISA Certificates - Katelyn Jones & Dylan Wilson-Browne
  • Athletics - Genevieve Stead & Xavier Hughes
  • Cross Country - Imigen Langford & Declan Ryan
  • Swimming - Bowen Gough & Sophie Hollyoak
  • Sambell Values - Alex Hale & Richie Lay
  • McHaffie Values - Daniel Dewhirst & Sarah Burns
  • Clarke Values - Genevieve Stead & Rory Marshall
  • Bass Values - Dylan Wilson-Browne & Sophie Hollyoak

The celebrations continued in the evening where students and their families attended the Valedictory Dinner at the Silverwater Resort.


« Back To News