- About -

Class of 2019

Class of 2019
Friday, 15 November 2019

Congratulations to our Class of 2019 who celebrated their final day of school with their families on Thursday 24 October. 

The day began with a special breakfast followed by final House assemblies where every Year 12 student was honoured with a presentation of memories and a ‘personal reflection’ given by a fellow student, sibling or teacher to commemorate their time at Newhaven.
At the final assembly two of our four College Captains, Matisse Cousins and James Mercer, gave inspiring final Captain’s speeches that provided great advice to younger students.
The prestigious Papworth Prize is given in memory of Mr W G Papworth, the founding Chairman of the Newhaven College Board of Directors, to a student who displays all round excellence and consistent and impressive commitment to the aims of Newhaven College. Chair of the College Board, Greg Price, presented this year’s Papworth Prize to Ella White, “…an outstanding example of a person who has struck a balance between academic study and the co-curricular program. Though totally committed to her studies, this has not stopped her from being fully involved in house, SEISA and all Cabinet fundraising activities. Ella has received many values awards over the years and has consistently received Academic Awards each year as one of the top five percent of students in her year level.”

Our Principal, Gea Lovell, presented the coveted Principal’s Prize to Martin Peters, describing him as, “…a humble student who has given back to the College and the community on so many levels and is a role model and leader who shows all here today how to balance everything so that you can follow your passions as well as your studies.”
The Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award recognises students who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within the school and local community and display strong Australian values such as ‘mateship’. This award, accompanied by a $500 cash prize, was awarded to Alex McMahon.

ADF Long Tan Award - Alex McMahon, Papworth Prize - Ella White, Principal's Prize - Martin Peters

Academic Awards were presented for outstanding achievement. Several students received multiple awards with Verena Bastwrous earning four.

Several years of dedication were rewarded for College Captains James Mercer and Meg Hynes along with Caitlin Westerling who achieved their Gold Duke of Edinburgh Awards.
Following a year of intense House Competition in Athletics, Cross Country, Swimming, Surfing, Netball, Chess and Dance/Drama, the House Cup went to Bass House, their first individual victory in 15 years after they shared the silverware with Clarke House last year.

Bass Head of House Melanie Flower with House Captains Angelina Christos, Matthew Nicholson, Charlotte Stubbles, Lara Standish, Ashlee Tobias and Alex McMahon

Prep to Year 4 students formed a guard of honour for the Class of 2019 to walk through as they departed their final assembly. Fifty white doves were released to represent the hopes and dreams that the graduating Year 12s hold for their futures and also the hopes and dreams that their teachers and parents hold for them as they venture into the next phase of their lives beyond secondary school.

The celebrations continued in the evening at the Valedictory Dinner which was held at Silverwater Resort. Here College Captains Meg Hynes and Luke Nicholson gave their final speeches wishing their peers every success for their futures and reminding them to treasure the friendships they formed and the memories they will always share about their time together at Newhaven College.

« Back To News